Southwestern's Hartsell, Trinity's Merwarth Selected as SCAC Female Swimmer and Diver of the Year

Southwestern's Hartsell, Trinity's Merwarth Selected as SCAC Female Swimmer and Diver of the Year

LAWRENCEVILLE, Ga. -- Southwestern's Rehgan Hartsell and Trinity University's Maren Merwarth were named the league's female Swimmer and Diver-of-the-Year, respectively, based on exclusive voting by the head coaches of the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference. 2019 All-SCAC Women's Swim/Dive Team

For the second year in a row, Hartsell, a sophomore of Georgetown, Texas, won all of her individual events at the SCAC championships and also played a large part in the team winning four of five relays for the second consecutive year. After earning Swimmer of the Meet honors in 2018, Hartsell shared the honor with her teammate Jesse Stovall at this year's conference championship meet. Hartsell has won the 200 IM, 100 breast and 200 breast each of the last two years and posted NCAA ‘B’ cut times in the 100 breast (1:04.39) and 200 breast (2:21.86) at this year’s championship. She was a member of the school-record breaking relay teams in the 200 medley, 200 free, 400 medley and 400 free.

Hartsell is the first Southwestern swimmer - male or female - to earn SCAC Swimmer of the Year honors.

Trinity's Merwarth, a freshman from San Antonio, Texas, took top honors on the three-meter board and finished second on the one-meter to take SCAC Diver of the Meet honors at this year's championship meet. She earned a berth to the NCAA Championships by finishing third and fourth, respectively, on the one- and three-meter boards at regionals.

Merwarth's selection as Diver of the Year marks the 14th consecutive a Trinity female student-athlete has taken home the top honor.

In balloting that took place following the conference championship meet, the Trinity University staff - led by first-year head coach Scott Trompeter, along with head diving coach Stan Randall, assistant coach John Ryan and assistant coach Kimberly Jones - earned SCAC Women's Coaching Staff-of-the-Year honors. The award represents the fifth consecutive year the program has been so honored and 11th time overall.