23 SCAC Men's Basketball Student-Athletes Named to NABC Honors Court

23 SCAC Men's Basketball Student-Athletes Named to NABC Honors Court

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced the 2018-19 NABC Honors Court, recognizing those men’s collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during the past season. The Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference was represented by 23 student-athletes.

The student-athletes hail from five of the league's nine member schools, including Austin College, Colorado College, Southwestern University, Texas Lutheran University and Trinity University.

Last week, Colorado College, Southwestern and Trinity earned the NABC Team Academic Excellence award.

The NABC Honors Court recognizes the talents and gifts that these men possess off the court and the hard work they exhibit in the classroom. 

Below are the 23 SCAC student-athletes who were recognized:

Austin College
Devin Roland - Junior - Business Administration
Quinten Tabor - Senior - Political Science

Colorado College
CooXooEli Black - Junior - English
Eric Jones - Junior - Molecular Biology
Edmond Pendleton - Senior - Political Science and Economics

Southwestern University
Brandon Alexander - Junior - Business
Jake Holmes - Senior - Business
Kyle Howard - Junior - Physics
Stan Kannegieter - Senior - Mathematics
Joel Martinez - Junior - Mathematics
Mike May - Junior - Physics
Justin McCormack - Junior - Biochemistry
Andrew Puhl - Junior - Political Science
Ryan Wheeler - Junior - Computer Science

Texas Lutheran University
Shawn Hamilton - Senior - Sports Management
Nathan Josephs - Senior - Business
Jacob Kouremetis - Senior - Business
Jackson Willoughby - Senior - Business

Trinity University
Matthew Colliflower - Senior - Mathematics
Taylor Kim - Senior - Communications
Stephen Molina - Junior - Accounting
Lucas Oldham - Junior - Finance
Danny Rivera - Senior - Business Analytics

In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications are as follows:

1. Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player.
2. Cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2018-19 academic year.
3. Students must have matriculated at least one year at their current institution.
4. Member of a NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Division I or II institution with a NABC member coach. 

Click here to see the full list of 2018-19 NABC Honors Court members.

SCAC Basketball Media Days
November 8, 2018 SCAC Basketball Media Days