Colorado College to Host George Fox in NCAA Tournament

Colorado College to Host George Fox in NCAA Tournament

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Colorado College earned an at-large Pool B berth to the 2019 NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Championship and will play host to George Fox University on Sunday, May 12, at Washburn Field. Interactive bracket | NCAA Release  

The winner of the Colorado College/George Fox contest will take on the winner of Salisbury (16-3) versus the first-round match-up winner of Merchant Marine (17-0) and Lebanon Valley (11-7) in a regional semifinal on Saturday, May 18 at a site to be determined.

CC, which finished the regular season with a 17-1 record, is making the program's fourth consecutive NCAA tournament appearance and the 11th overall. The Tigers own a 10-10 postseason record and are 6-0 all-time in NCAA tournament games played in Colorado Springs.

George Fox (14-2) earned its first-ever postseason appearance by winning the Northwest Conference. Saturday's game will be the second trip to Colorado Springs for the Bruins this season. On March 25, CC posted a 19-9 victory over GFU at Stewart Field and improved to 3-0 all-time against the Bruins.

Last week, Colorado College closed out the regular season in fine fashion, winning its second Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Championship, defeating Johnson & Wales, 22-1, and Southwestern, 18-1, in the championship game.

Colorado College is tied for 11th nationally averaging 17.06 goals per game and is 12th with a 9.67 scoring average. Three players have produced at least 60 points this season for CC's high-scoring offense, led by junior attacker Eva King who leads the team with 91 points on 45 goals and 46 assists. Her 91 points set a new SCAC record for points in a single season.  

Defensively, sophomore Alena Stern owns a 16-1 record in goal and set personal single-season bests with an 8.39 goals-against average and a .529 saves percentage.

Thirty-one conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for the championship. One team has been selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final ten berths are reserved for Pool C, which includes the remaining institutions in conferences with automatic qualification that are not the conference champion plus remaining independents and members of non-qualifying conferences.

Ten first-round games will be conducted Saturday, May 11 with the winners advancing to the second round. Sixteen second-round games will be conducted on Sunday, May 12 with the winners advancing to one of four regional sites Saturday and Sunday, May 18-19. Winners of the four regionals will advance to the semifinals and final, which take place Saturday and Sunday, May 25-26 at Day Field in Ashland, Virginia. Randolph-Macon College and Richmond Region Tourism will serve as hosts for the championship.