Trinity Leads Four SCAC Members Ranked in Learfield Directors' Cup Final Standings

Trinity Leads Four SCAC Members Ranked in Learfield Directors' Cup Final Standings

CLEVELAND, Ohio - Trinity University led four SCAC institutions ranked in the 2018-19 Division III Learfield Sports Directors' Cup final standings with a 36th place finish. Complete Standings 

Trinity tallied 426 points in the standings on the strength of its three NCAA appearances in the fall, two appearances in the winter and four appearances in the spring. The Tigers placed ninth in men's tennis, 17th in women's tennis, 33rd in Baseball and 40th in women’s track & field.

Texas Lutheran University amassed 267 points to slot in at 73rd place – the institution’s highest finish since joining the SCAC prior to the 2013-14 season. The Bulldog’s won the school’s first ever national title this spring in softball, and also added points in men’s track & field and baseball, finishing 31st and 46th, respectively. Colorado College placed 173rd with 114 points, paced by a 64-point contribution in women’s lacrosse.

Southwestern University rounds out the SCAC team representation, sitting in 223rd after earning 49.5 points from men’s golf.

Williams took the top spot in Division III at the completion of the year with 1126.50 points. The Ephs have a 33.25-point lead over second-place Johns Hopkins (1083.75), while Washington-St. Louis rounds out the top-three with 1032.75 points.

The Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup was developed as a joint effort between the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and USA Today. Points are awarded based on each institution's finish in NCAA Championships. 

To date, all 12 spring NCAA championships have been completed with the following institutions capturing titles: baseball - Chapman; women's golf - NYU; men's golf – Illinois Wesleyan; women's lacrosse - Middlebury; men's lacrosse - Cabrini; women's rowing - Bates; softball – Texas Lutheran; women's tennis – Wesleyan (CT); men's tennis - Emory; women's track and field - Loras; men's track and field – UW-Eau Claire; men's volleyball – SUNY New Paultz.