SCAC Woman of the Year

The Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) Woman of the Year award was established for the 2005-06 athletic season.

Each year, the winner of the SCAC Woman of the Year award is nominated for the NCAA Woman of the Year, one of the most prestigious honors the NCAA bestows.

The award recognizes senior student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership. Each NCAA conference, and independent institutions, can nominate a distinguished female student-athlete for the NCAA Woman of the Year Award. The NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics will select the top 10 winners in each division in August. From those 30 honorees, the selection committee will determine the top three in each division (September). Finally, the members of the CWA will vote from among the top nine finalists to determine the Woman of the Year.

Year-by-year SCAC Woman of the Year Honorees
Year Name School Sport(s)
2011 Hayley Emerick Trinity University Diving
2010 Lauren Reich DePauw University Cross Country / Outdoor Track and Field
2009 Melanie Auguste Colorado College Basketball 
  Amanda Stier DePauw University Swimming 
2008 Katie Doogan DePauw University Swimming 
2007 Liz Bondi DePauw University Basketball & Tennis 
2006 Christyn Schumann Trinity University Outdoor Track and Field

 *Click on the hyperlinked year to read that year's release. 

Hayley Emerick

Lauren Reich

Melanie Auguste

Amanda Stier

Katie Doogan

Liz Bondi

Christyn Schumann